Christmas log cake

 

In France, Belgium, Quebec, Lebanon, and generally in francophone countries, Christmas dinner ends enjoying the Yule Log: This culinary tradition reproduced another rite associated with the celebration of the solstice winter.


Tradition:
 

For several centuries, it is usual during the Christmas Eve, to burn in the fire a huge log that must be consumed very slowly, the ideal being that it can last for twelve days cycle. Preferably, a fruit tree is chosen to ensure a good harvest for the following year. At startup, the log is blessed with a sprig of box or bay, preserved since Palm Sunday. On combustion, the log is, in some regions, watered wine to ensure a good harvest, or salt to protect against witches. It often keeps the embers in order to preserve the house from lightning.


Dessert:

 
The disappearance of large hearths terminates the custom logs that were burned, the date of birth of dessert that replaced them is unknown. Some point to the creation of a pastry chef in 1945 but the jelly roll of Christmas is already traditional, at least in the Poitou-Charentes, in France, since the nineteenth century.


Tradition dictates that a Yule log is made on the basis of buttercream, but for several years some prefer it chilled. The main flavors of Christmas log are: vanilla, praline, liqueur Grand Marnier, coffee, chocolate and strawberry. The Yule log, glossy or not, must absolutely be decorated with various attributes (Santa Claus, an ax, saw, mushrooms, pixies etc..) sugar or plastic.



Source: The Free Encyclopedia. www.wikipedia.com


 
Back

La bûche de Noël

En France, en Belgique, au Québec, au Liban, et généralement dans les pays francophones, le repas de Noël se termine en dégustant la bûche de Noël : cette tradition culinaire reproduit, en fait, un autre rite lié à la célébration du solstice d'hiver.

 

La tradition: 

 

Depuis plusieurs siècles, en effet, on a pour habitude, lors de la veillée de Noël, de faire brûler dans l'âtre une très grosse bûche qui doit se consumer très lentement ; l'idéal étant qu'elle puisse durer pendant les douze jours du cycle. Il est choisi, de préférence, un tronc d'arbre fruitier censé garantir une bonne récolte pour l'année suivante. Lors de l'allumage, la bûche est bénie à l'aide d'une branche de buis, ou de laurier, conservée depuis la fête des Rameaux. Lors de sa combustion, la bûche est, dans certaines régions, arrosée de vin afin d'assurer une bonne vendange, ou de sel pour se protéger des sorcières. On conserve souvent les tisons afin de préserver la maison de la foudre.

 

Le dessert: 

 

La disparition des grands âtres met fin à la coutume des bûches qui y étaient brûlées : la date de naissance du dessert qui les a remplacées reste inconnue. Certains évoquent la création d'un pâtissier en 1945 mais le gâteau roulé de Noël est déjà traditionnel, tout du moins dans la région Poitou-Charentes, depuis le XIXe siècle.

 

La tradition veut qu'une bûche de Noël soit réalisée à base de crème au beurre, mais depuis plusieurs années certains la préfèrent glacée. Les parfums principaux d'une bûche de Noël sont : vanille, praliné, liqueur de Grand Marnier, café, chocolat et fraise. La bûche de Noël, glacée ou non, doit absolument être décorée d'attributs divers (Père Noël, hache, scie, champignons, lutins etc.) en sucre ou en plastique.

 

Source : L’encyclopédie libre. www.wikipedia.com  

 

retour